Just Say No…to Elf on the Shelf

3 thoughts on “Just Say No…to Elf on the Shelf”

  1. I loved this post. I tried the elf thing and honestly it just put me in a really bad mood and my kids didn’t even care to pay attention to the thing. After reading this I realized, I completely agree with you, more than anything this elf is just another tool to use in the “mommy wars”. I am sure very soon we will be seeing post after post of this creepy little elf on Facebook, with each mom trying to show just how clever they can be. Honestly, I have enough to do without staying up late to pose a plastic elf in some “creative” position. I just realized how annoyed this elf makes me so I will try to regain my composure now to say…
    I really loved the idea of putting out a donation bag for Santa to pick up. We will definitely be trying that one this year. Your post also made me stop and think, as I am getting prepped for all the holiday hastle, that I really just need to stop and take time to enjoy this special time of year with those I love. Thanks Laura!

    Like

  2. Thank you. I feel like I’m the only one I know that doesn’t do the elf, for all the reasons you stated. This year we are adding random acts of kindness to our advent calendar, like sending flowers to our widowed Gma and a gift card to a friend for dinner. Our girls love sharing their extras with the families or church adopts each year, I wish others knew what they were missing out on and the generosity in our kids hearts who just need a place to use it.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

